Weird gold

A quote by a long time favorite ancient philosopher-author of mine, Rumi, about over-analyzing our potential (I am not sure but maybe I’m the only person who actually laughed out loud at this?) :

You sit here for days saying, This is strange business. You’re the strange business. You have the energy of the sun in you, but you keep knotting it up at the base of your spine. You’re some weird kind of gold that wants to stay melted in the furnace, so you won’t have to become coins.

To me it reflects giving into the the minds’ fluctuations and doubts about what we are currently doing, is it right, is it good? And while self-reflection is necessary to make sure our life choices are intelligent, how much do we keep our energy bound up in knots by over-analyzing the as yet unknown fruits of our actions? I have spent about 2 hours today navigating the world of the UK’s tax and business procedures to set myself up as a sole trader and yoga instructor. Not only that, but because of a silly glitch with the Yoga Alliance UK’s payment system, they wanted to register my husband’s name on my yoga insurance because we paid with his credit card. These silly things that throw one for a loop and make us think we should back away from the obstacles, a natural reaction to confusing situations. But I haven’t felt so empowered in awhile – knowing that I am utilizing the motivational vibes that are still fresh from the training so recently completed. I don’t want to be ‘weird gold’ I want to be the gold that is molded into what it could potentially be and shine shine shine!

I wish that for everyone, to reach your ultimate potential and not feel insecure in it, not to dwell in doubts but rather look up and embrace your natural state. Here’s a picture of yoga teacher training graduation day in Suryalila’s back yard. I love the sun ray’s coming in, shining just so, making no apologies for being bright and beautiful. If the sun can shine and be so accepted, why can’t all of us? Good luck!

Image

Leave a Reply

