Student profile ~ Joanna’s yoga journey

What’s your name? Joanna Armitage

Your occupation: Credit Control

Any other fitness hobbies? Salsa & Burlesque

What attracted you to yoga? What does the concept of yoga represent for you?

I was attracted to yoga as was told if I wanted to be more flexible then yoga will really help improve that. I have noticed a difference but have also gained much more than just flexibility. I love the routines and how they can be used for fitness but also for reconstructive yoga (where I have exercised and have stiff muscles!)

Why is personal yoga different than group classes?

Group classes are great, but personal yoga is adapted totally to my needs plus if I do anything not quite correct then this is instantly noticed and rectified.

What yoga pose are you in love with at the moment? How does it make you feel? What does it mean to you?

I love bow, and really want to get good at this pose as it requires strength and flexibility. When I do Bow, I do get “shaky” as do not have enough upper body strength at the moment, but know I will get there eventually. It gives me a goal to work for and also I love a challenge.

Why do beginners need yoga?

Everyone has to start somewhere and I know people get put off by not being good enough, flexible enough, and healthy enough and all these other excuses.  Everyone has to start somewhere though and yoga is needed even more so for beginners, as it will change their outlook on their life and personal exercise plans too!

 How has yoga changed your outlook on life?

Yes it has, I love yoga, and how it makes me feel. I get a feeling of accomplishment if I manage to pose in one of the more challenging poses (for me) Also I find that my road rage has lessened so much, I’m less worried about how others behave. I didn’t think Yoga would have this effect on me, I even notice that I try to rectify my shoulders when I am walking/driving/sitting! I recommend yoga to anyone.

How can Alexis and Soul Flow Vinyasa Yoga help those who have yet to try what we offer?

Alexis will adapt the class program to suit any individual needs, and not only will you get a great workout trying out different poses and routines, you will be working with a friendly personal tutor who will make you feel at ease immediately.

Joanna at a vintage hair styling workshop. Sample from Vintage Hair Lounge self-styling hair course — with Joanna Djinn Spencer and Sharon Holloway. Tags: Scott Chalmers Photography

Joanna at a vintage hair styling workshop. Sample from Vintage Hair Lounge self-styling hair course — with Joanna Djinn Spencer and Sharon Holloway.
Tags: Scott Chalmers Photography

Leave a comment